OFFICERS 2012-2014

CATHY DARLING ALLEN PRESIDENT Shasta County NEAL KELLEY VICE PRESIDENT Orange County DEAN LOGAN TREASURER Los Angeles County

SUSAN M.RANOCHAK SECRETARY Mendocino County

BOARD OF DIRECTORS APPOINTED:

GINA ALCOMENDRAS Santa Clara County SACHI HAMAI Los Angeles County JOSEPH HOLLAND Santa Barbara County MARK LUNN Ventura County KATHIE MORAN Colusa County KAREN RHEA Kern County JULIE RODEWALD San Luis Obispo County **BEVERLY ROSS** Tehama County LARRY WARD **Riverside County DAWN ABRAHAMSON*** Fremont City Clerk non-voting member ADVISORY COUNCIL: STEVE WEIR Contra Costa County **REBECCA MARTINEZ** Madera County GAIL L. PELLERIN Santa Cruz County ELECTED AREA CHAIRS:

JULIE BUSTAMANTE Northern Area Lassen County KAMMI FOOTE Southern Area Inyo County JILL LAVINE Mother Lode Area Sacramento County AUSTIN G. ERDMAN Central Area

San Joaquin County ELMA ROSAS

Bay Area Santa Clara County

LEGISLATIVE COMMITTEES CLERK OF THE BOARD:

SACHI A. HAMAI Los Angeles County JOHN MCKIBBEN Los Angeles County

COUNTY CLERK:

KATHIE MORAN Colusa County CRAIG KRAMER Sacramento County

ELECTIONS:

JILL LAVINE Sacramento County KAREN RHEA

Kern County



CALIFORNIA ASSOCIATION OF CLERKS AND ELECTION OFFICIALS

CATHY DARLING ALLEN, PRESIDENT Shasta County Clerk 1643 Market Street, Redding, CA 96001 530-225-5166 * Fax 530-225-5454 * Cell 530-604-2655 E-Mail: <u>cdarling@co.shasta.ca.us</u> Website: <u>www.caceo58.org</u>

June 25, 2013

Senator Leland Yee, Author State Capitol, Room 4074 Sacramento, CA 95814-4900

Dear Senator Yee:

The California Association of Clerks and Election Officials (CACEO) Elections Legislative Committee has re-reviewed **SB 553 (as amended May 24, 2013**) and has removed its opposition to your proposal relating to the local agency assessment elections.

We thank you for your consideration of our concerns and appreciate your agreement to make the technical amendment to change the word "electorate" to "registered voters" to provide further clarity between the electors eligible to participate in the two election methods addressed.

Should you have any questions, please feel free to contact me at the Kern County Elections Office (661) 868-3717.

Very truly yours,

aren

Karen Rhea Co-Chair, Elections Legislative Committee California Association of Clerks and Election Officials

c: Senator Norma Torres, Chair, Senate Committee on Elections, Reapportionment and Constitutional Amendments Assembly Member Paul Fong, Chair, Assembly Committee on Elections and Redistricting Barry Brokaw, Sacramento Advocates Jill LaVine, Co-Chair, CACEO Election Legislative Committee